Skip to content

Committee Members


Committee members and office bearers

Meet Our Committee

The club has a very active committee of more than 25 people. Every single position is a voluntary role and we always welcome new faces and ideas. We deal with finance, membership, development planning, tournaments, team selection, child protection, health and safety, junior and juvenile tennis, maintenance, fund raising and club communications.

Our AGM is held in winter each year, and gives every member a chance to listen to, discuss and vote on issues at the Club.

If you have skills in any of these areas and would like to get involved please email

Committee Members

Letty Lucas
John Mercer
Vice Chairpersons
Patrick Knowles
Eileen Carlin
Gareth Stevenson
Ed Smyth
Sharon Harte
Membership Secretary
Elyse Mercer
Safeguarding Officer
Anne Farrell
Assistant Safeguarding Officer
Louis Boyle
Match Secretary
Eileen Carlin
Court Booking Secretary
Patrick Knowles
Letty Lucas
William Boyd
Public Relations
Patrick Beattie
Club Nights
Gareth Stevenson
Club Management Systems
Colin Roberts
Karen Bonar,
Michelle Thompson
Other Committee Members
Kenny Bell
Chris Mitchell
Gillian Cartmill
Gillian West
Christopher Stanley
Emily Beattie
Wilbert McKnight

Join the club

Love playing tennis? Become a member!

At Downshire we are passionate about tennis and have an ethos of being friendly, welcoming new members and serving the community. Our membership age ranges from 3 to 83 and all with varying abilities. You can be sure there’s something for everyone.